The Way We Were

Karen & Alan_1ABarbara Streisand made the haunting melody and lyrics memorably famous in the movie of the same name, The Way We Were, which premiered in 1974. The passage of time has yet to fade the many images that reside in the corners of my own mind. As good as gold itself, they, too, seem immune to the ravages of environment and time.

But, knowing that few things in life are not soon forgotten, I made the decision over ten years ago to shine a new light on those images/memories I carry and to document the life experiences and viewpoints at the root of those impressions. Rather than a diary, the chosen vehicle for this account of my life is the blog you are now reading.

My first post on reasonandreflection.wordpress.com is dated February 21, 2013. It is titled The Lure of Science in keeping with the “reason” part of this blog’s name, Reason and Reflection. Followers of this blog are well aware, however, that I dote even more heavily on “reflection” within my posts which now number 224 and are, essentially, mini-essays on a wide variety of topics ranging from A to Z.

These 224 posts are my autobiography, then. They reflect my core interests and my observations on life and the human condition. They characterize me. My wish has always been to share my thoughts and observations with others and to document, for the close family I will eventually leave behind, just who I am and how I got here. This present post explains why I do what I do with my blog and its entries.

In a slightly different vein, this post also reflects my firm belief that “the way we were” had many advantages over “the way we are.” I will not elaborate further but will state that our misuse of technology has much to do with that contention. On the positive side, this public blog would not be possible without the awesome advances in communication technology over recent decades. The misuse and distractions of social media serve to counterbalance such positives, however.

Predictably, technology has changed everything for human society during my eighty-two plus years, and it will continue to do so at an accelerated pace. One over-riding lesson I have gleaned from my life-experience is this:

Technology is a dual-edged sword which marches relentlessly forward and inevitably cuts two ways: use it wisely and it will continue to enrich humanity; use it foolishly and unchecked, and it will shred the fabric of society. I have witnessed both edges of the blade in action during my lifetime – the positives and the negatives. The Rx for society’s survival: utilize technology wisely and productively. Know what is right, do what is right, and speak and heed nothing but the truth. The Golden Rule would make a fabulous postscript!

Despite and, too often, because of our many “advances,” we have lost the “kinder, gentler” nature of times only recently past. Society can and must learn to use technology wisely while heeding the lessons of history, or we will be doomed to repeat history’s mistakes – with far greater consequences!

I fondly recall the kinder, gentler times. Why look back? There were also problems then – like brutal wars, polio, discrimination, etc., but societal norms of honesty and decency were in place back then that are absent, now. Truth, honesty, and a man’s word counted for something. It was “the way we were” to a greater extent.

Zybura_7D

Enter Barbara Streisand, and let the melody begin!

 

Postscript: finding any post

 As a service to the readers of this blog (and a book-keeping aid to myself), the remainder of this post will consist of a chronological listing (backward in time) of all past 223 posts to date showing the post title, date of posting, and a thumbnail picture. Every one of these posts is available from this blog’s website, reasonandreflection.wordpress.com. On the website, click on the “Home” page and locate the small (and faint) “Search” box at the extreme upper right-hand corner. Type any keyword(s) from the title of the desired post, as listed, and click “Search.” The search will take you to a page displaying a title/link to the post of interest (and perhaps one or two others). Clicking on the desired title/link will take you to the original post, as published. You will discover something for everyone: happy viewing!

Post List_1

2 thoughts on “The Way We Were

    • Amen. So important that voters are well informed…and that they turn out to vote wisely. Thanks for reading and commenting, Linda. Hope all is going well!

Leave a Comment